CultureHub is a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, and all donations are fully tax deductible. No amount is too small, and all gifts will be put directly into CultureHub’s ongoing arts & education programming. Donate
47 Great Jones St
New York, NY 10012
(917) 463-3917

CultureHub is ADA Compliant and wheelchair accessible

       


RE:GENERATION

Hip-Hop Re:Education Project Showcase

Saturday December 6, 1-3pm
FREE RSVP | Facebook

The Hip Hop Re:Education Project, in collaboration with CultureHub & La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club, is proud to present the next installment of HHRP Youth Artist performances: RE:GENERATION.

The HHRP’s “All City” sessions serve as an incubator for developing artworks inspired by the Six Pillars of the organization. These works have been shared at multi-elemental, multi-media exhibitions “Organic Intellectual” and “Freestyle Monument,” coming to life through collaboration in the forms of dance, visual art, recorded music, human beatbox and poetry. But the Pillars of the HHRP don’t merely manifest as artworks: they are brought into the world through the day to day work of Re:Educators in classrooms, community centers, after-school programs and workshops. They are embodied, taught, perpetuated... Re:Generated.

RE:GENERATION is curated and directed by these Hip Hop Re:Education Project youth artists turned mentors, and will feature performances from artists between the ages of 12-24, dedicated to some of the most important issues affecting youth today. The highlight of the afternoon will be a Cyber Cypher with youth from Heal the Hood in Cape Town, South Africa! There will also be a brief open mic for anyone wishing to share social-justice-themed work. Come through and let your voice be heard.




Livestream: a Special Work in Progress Showing of The Return by Tom Lee


December 9, 8:30 EST | Livestream

CultureHub will present a special work in progress showing of The Return by puppeteer Tom Lee in collaboration with the Seoul Institute of the Arts and Sarah Lawrence College. It will be livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday, December 9 at 5:30pm PST (Los Angeles) / 7:30pm CST (Chicago) / 8:30pm EST (New York) / Wednesday, December 10 at 1:30am GMT (London) / Wednesday, December at 10:30am KST (Seoul).

Long time La MaMa Artist and Puppeteer, Tom Lee (War Horse on Broadway and Madam Butterfly at the Metropolitan Opera), has been in residence at CultureHub this fall teaching and collaborating with students from Seoul Institute of the Arts and Sarah Lawrence while developing his original, mediated puppet work The Return. Inspired by the work of Stanislaw Lem (Solaris), and drawing from the environmental themes of the La MaMa Earth Season, Lee, his students, and the technology team at CultureHub have synthesized traditional puppet forms and object manipulation with live feeds and motion capture technology to create an evocative, poignant meditation on what happens when our technology evolves faster than we do, and all of the positive and negative repercussions of our accelerating development.